East and Horn of Africa — Monthly Regional Snapshot (March 2020)

DTM Regional Office Nairobi, DTMRONairobi@iom.int
East Africa and the Horn of Africa
Period Covered
Mar 01 2020 -
Mar 31 2020
  • Other
  • Survey
  • Registration
  • Flow Monitoring
  • Mobility Tracking
  • Points of Entry (PoE)


The Displacement Tracking Matrix (DTM) in the East and Horn of Africa (EHoA) region is currently active in six countries (Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Somalia, South Sudan, and Uganda), and its methodology includes four main components (mobility tracking, flow monitoring, registrations, and surveys). As of March 2020, DTM in the region tracked 6.1M Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) and 2.7M Returnees, as reported during the last round of DTM assessment for each country.  The figures of IDPs and returnees for Ethiopia are as of Round 20 (Nov 2019),  and the figures for South Sudan are as of Round 7 (Nov 2019).  The IDP figure for Burundi is as of Round 51 (Mar 2020). While DTM coverage is being expanded in Somalia, the IDP figure indicated on this map is the most up-to-date data available shared by the Information Management Working Group - Technical Working Group (IMWG-TWG) and endorsed by the National Commission for Refugees and IDPs (NCRI) in Somalia, as of February 2018. 



  • COVID19